To sleep or not to sleep

Image source: http://www.animekon.com/gallery/2008/03/101937241406.jpg

Okay, so while I’m writing this, I’m having my third cup of coffee, and I’m trying hard not to fall asleep. Speaking of coffee and sleep, I remembered a conversation that I had with one of my seniors when I was in my first year. “So,” she said. “Do you drink coffee?”

I answered, “Yes, but only a little”.

She nodded. Then, she told me, “Good. That’s good. It’ll be your best friend sooner or later”.

So far, it has been true in my case. I used to sleep for about seven to eight hours before I went to college, but now I normally sleep for five and a half to six hours or sometimes seven hours at most. I usually sleep at midnight and wake up at five thirty or six in the morning, the perfect time for high speed downloads (Yeah! All the manga, latest anime episodes, and movies you can possibly download). I used to have difficulty in waking up after only five hours of sleep, and it usually took literally about a dozen alarms or more to wake me up. Picture this: The alarm clock rings. I open my eyes and reset it. I say, “Five minutes”, and who knows how many “five minutes” later, I get up, but with the idea of sleeping a bit longer still tempting me. It takes a lot of effort, but once you get used to it, you don’t need an alarm clock to bother you and your roommates. That is, if there isn’t much work to do. Of course there comes a time when my sleep pattern is interrupted. It’s usually interrupted on weekends because of movie marathons. So on weekends, I sleep at six thirty or seven in the morning and wake up at eleven thirty. For the rest of the day, I feel so lazy to do anything and I just end up watching TV or drawing, and sleeping again in the afternoon. Then, I only start to feel like I’m actually awake at night. However, no matter how much I don’t feel like sleeping at eleven thirty in the evening on a Sunday, I have to force myself to sleep just to be able to wake up early the next day.

When finals week a.k.a. “hell week” comes, I only get about four to four and a half hours of sleep. As much as I’m tempted not to sleep, I have to or else I’ll end up not being able to think straight and feeling like I’m floating the next day or worse, I have palpitations. Deadlines today, exams tomorrow or both of them on the same day! That’s the usual scenario… And it’s still a surprise that I find myself not wearing a strait jacket. Well anyway, it’s during times like these that I don’t get enough sleep. As a result, after taking the exam or passing all the papers that I need to pass, I go back to the dorm and sleep again for about two to three hours, and then I start reviewing for my next exam.

Recently, my sleep pattern has again been going crazy. This time though, I’ve been sleeping longer than usual. There are times that I sleep for eight to ten hours and it usually happens when I have a lot of papers that I need to pass. It’s not very good. So what I do is that I try reflecting on my day. What did I eat? What sort of things did I do? And all of those questions that might lead to an explanation about my sudden desire to somewhat hibernate. I found out that on days that I sleep for longer hours, it’s either I ate too much sweets or I studied or did my homework in my room. So now, I try to minimize eating too much of the sweet stuff. Now, I make use of the dorm’s study area. It’s working for me, so far. From time to time, I also take a little walk or do a little stretching. It helps in keeping me awake. It also helps me in better understanding whatever I’m reading especially when the words no longer seem to make sense after reading for a long time. It gives the eyes some rest. Speaking of which, I think I’ll give mine some rest now… Ja ne! ^__^

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment